Strong team spirit is part of Magnum's corporate identity

The team is the most valued Magnum asset, especially when the people have worked for the company since its foundation. The team is perhaps even more important than innovation. 

Strong team spirit is part of Magnum's corporate identity

The fist sports flooring system

The first sports flooring was sold in 1990-s to a customer from Mariupol, a leading local volleyball team, for theirnewly built sports center. The floor was the finishing touch, but not an easy one. A supervisor from Germany had to be invited to the site for consultations, but the actual works (950 m2 of professional flooring) were performed by the three Magnum workers. It was the first flooring project for Magnum. The workers studied the technology, learned the patterns and wrote down the new information, to be able to deliver this kind of projects on their own, without the help from abroad. 


Another flooring contract was signed to mount the same surface in a large sports center in Saints-Petersburg. This time, the works were delivered by Magnum team without supervision. 


In 1999, Magnum got down to mounting parquet flooring, and then to artificial turf on a small open field for a customer from a fitness industry. The team advanced their skills, took up larger work volumes, began to work with new products – various sports roll flooring, ad parquet flooring on various types of subfloor. The workers had to learn on the go, picking up best practices and attending manufacturers’ workshops.


The first football field

The key issue in those years was the lack of specialized education for assembly and fitting experts who wanted to work with artificial turf. When the contract was signed, Magnum had to send its experts to Belgium and France. They spent five days on studying the technology, taking the photos, writing everything down and learning the tips and tricks. After that, they started a project on the Sokol stadium near Kurskaya metro station in Moscow. Magnum team surfaced the whole field – and that was 120 tons of sand, and 160 tons of rubber granules. Their only tools were two-wheeled wagon carts and loading hoppers, spades, and brushes. Today we use sand infill and brusher machines, but years ago the sand and granules had to be rubbed into the grass fibers by hand. To connect two pieces of the grass by joint tape, or to cut and adjust the marking was not the most difficult task even for manual work. But the cutting tools were not readily available in stores, and had to be designed and made by the team. Step by step, five workers managed to mount the 7,000 square meters of the surface in a month and a half. Several years later, the company ordered specialized machinery for similar projects of large artificial turf fields.       

 

2002-2003

In 2002-2003, the CSKA soccer and track & field arena was added to the Magnum case portfolio. It is one of the earliest and important facilities. The works on the arena began with a large-scale reconstruction and repairs, including complete resurfacing of the track and field facilities, and mounting new certified surface on a subbase, on straights and curves of the running tracks. First, we had to remove at least 9,000 m2 of the old surface manually, as the company didn’t have the required mechanical equipment yet. It took lees than two weeks to clear the subbase from the old surface and begin the works on the new roll surface by Mondo. It was the first roll surface project, so Italian experts arrived at the site to supervise mounting. The arena still uses the same surface for numerous events, such as Russian Winter, Russian Championship Cup, and kids’ training sessions.


The next project required comprehensive equipment procurement for Uralochka-NTMK volleyball club facility - Metallurg-Forum Sports Palace in Nizhny Tagil. Two thousand square meters of parquet flooring were mounted; protection nets along the court perimeter, sound curtains, seating on the stands, and displays were installed. 


The next project was equipment procurement and assembly for Olimpiysky Ice Palace in Chekhov. The list of equipment included sports parquet, stationary and extendable stands, and the gym on the second floor (1,000 m2 of parquet flooring). By this time, the key members of our assembly and construction team had joined the team, and most of these people still work with us, even 15 years later. 

 

Scale and expertise

Over the next years, the experience and skills of Magnum experts continued to grow. The mounting works included: sports parquet flooring, roll flooring, seating on stands, protective nets; the venues included sports centers and recreational facilities around Moscow, and the facilities of the United Russia party federal program. Mondo track & field surfacing was mounted on 8 stadiums in Krasnodar region. It was also installed at a number of important events: Europe Cup in Cheboksary, the 2013 IAAF World Championships in Athletics in Luzhniki (where reconstruction works were performed for Sports town area, The South part, the North part and, of course, for the main Russian stadium – the Big sports arena).


For Kazan Universiade, construction and equipment works were delivered in the Olympic village and on Kazan Arena. For the Children of Asia International Sports Games in Yakutsk, a roll flooring was mounted in indoor track & field arena.


The geographic locations and scales of Magnum projects are impressive. We are proud of our expert assembly and engineering team.

Бригадный дух как лицо компании «Магнум»

Люди – самое ценное, что есть в компании «Магнум». Особенно, когда костяк бригады работает в ней с момента основания. Пожалуй, это даже важнее технологического прогресса. 

Бригадный дух как лицо компании «Магнум»

Первый спортивный пол

Первый спортивный паркетный пол был продан в конце 90-х, в город Мариуполь для одной из ведущих местных волейбольных команд в только что построенный тогда дворец спорта. Оставалось только смонтировать систему спортивных полов, которая была не самой простой. Для работ был вызван супервайзеров из Германии, который консультировал и помогал, но фактически 950 м² профессиональных полов было уложено тремя сотрудниками компании «Магнум». Это был первый опыт компании в данном направлении. Сотрудники учили технологии, запоминали шаблоны, много конспектировали с прицелом на будущее: чтобы быть в состоянии все покрытия укладывать самостоятельно и никаких супервайзеров из-за границы не вызывать. 


Далее был подписан еще один договор на укладку аналогичных полов в Санкт-Петербурге в новом большом спортивном комплексе. И на монтаж уже выезжали самостоятельно. 


В 1999 году компания впервые занялась монтажом паркетных полов. Затем был небольшой фитнес-проект, открытая площадка с искусственной травой. Специалисты внутри компании росли, осваивали новые объемы заказов, стали появляться новые продукты - различные виды спортивных рулонных покрытий, паркетных полов на разных типах подпола. Учиться приходилось по ходу реализации проектов, на практике, накапливая опыт, иногда посещая тренинги от производителей.


Первое футбольное поле

Главная проблема в те годы заключалась в том, что учиться специальности монтажника по укладке искусственной травы не было возможности – этому нигде не учили. Когда был подписан договор на укладку искусственного футбольного поля, специалистам «Магнум» пришлось полететь в Бельгию и Францию, где в течение пяти дней они изучали технологию, фотографировали, записывали, подсматривали, а затем уже на основании этих записей в России вышли на проект – это был стадион «Сокол» в районе метро «Курская». Весь газон уложили самостоятельно - это 120 тонн песка, 160 тонн резиновой крошки. Из инструмента были только тележки и бункеры для засыпки песка и резиновой крошки на двух колесах, лопаты и щетки. Это уже в наши дни есть специальные засыпочные трактора и машины для распределения резиновой крошки, песка, а тогда втирали в ворс травы песок и крошку вручную, при помощи щеток. Допустим, склеить траву шовной лентой, вырезать и вклеить разметку вручную еще было можно, но для этого тогда сами изготавливали инструменты, поскольку купить их было очень сложно. И вот так, впятером, за 1,5 месяца это поле уложили, а это около 7 000 квадратных метров. Это довольно трудная работа – соблюсти нужный уровень засыпки, глубину. Только потом компания уже начала приобретать специальную технику и укладывать механизированным способом большие искусственные поля.       

 

2002-2003 год

В 2002-2003 году профессиональной деятельности компании «Магнум» появился легкоатлетический футбольный комплекс ЦСКА. Один из самых первых и важных объектов. В манеже началась большая реконструкция, которая включала в себя полную замену легкоатлетического покрытия на новое, сертифицированное, с подготовкой и ремонтом основания беговых дорожек и виражей. На первоначальном этапе требовалось демонтировать старое рулонное покрытие от основания, а это не менее 9000 м2. Так как необходимой техники для снятия покрытия в больших объемах на тот момент в компании не было - приходилось снимать все покрытие вручную. Тем не менее за две недели монтажники полностью очистили основание от старого покрытия и приступили к укладке нового легкоатлетического рулонного покрытия итальянского производителя Mondo. Это был первый опыт работы компании с рулонными покрытиями такого типа, поэтому привлекали специалистов из Италии для шефмонтажа. Данное покрытие лежит в манеже и по сей день, на нем проводятся различные соревнования по легкой атлетике, такие как «Русская Зима», Чемпионат России, также на нем тренируются профессиональные и будущие спортсмены, дети. 


Затем были выполнены работы по комплексному оснащению спортивными покрытиями и оборудованием Дворца Спорта «Металлург-Форум» для волейбольного клуба «Уралочка-НТМК» в городе Нижний Тагил. Было уложено 2000 м2 паркетных полов смонтированы защитные сетки по периметру зала, разделительные акустические занавесы, сидении на трибунах и табло. 


Потом был объект в г. Чехове – Дворец Спорта “Олимпийский”. Там были не только спортивные паркетные полы, но и телескопические, стационарные трибуны, тренировочный зал на втором этаже, где около 1 000 м² паркета. В этот период окончательно сформировался костяк бригады монтажников компании «Магнум», большинство из которых до сих пор работают, хотя прошло уже более 15-ти лет. 

 

Масштаб и опыт

Все последующие годы опыт и квалификация специалистов компании росли. Укладывали спортивный паркет, рулонные покрытия, производили монтаж сидений на трибуны, монтировали электронные табло, защитные сетки в подмосковных Дворцах Спорта и Физкультурно-оздоровительных комплексах, а также в рамках Федеральной программы «Единой России». Осуществляли работы по укладке легкоатлетических покрытий Mondo на восьми стадионах Краснодарского края, под командный чемпионат Европы в Чебоксарах, под Чемпионат Мира по легкой атлетике 2013 года в Лужниках, где полностью реконструировали Спортивный городок, Южное спортивное ядро, Северное спортивное ядро и конечно же главный стадион страны-Большую спортивную арену.


К Универсиаде в г. Казани были выполнили работы на стадионе в «Олимпийской деревне» и на «Казань Арене». Было уложено рулонное покрытие и в Крытом легкоатлетическом манеже в г. Якутске, для проведения соревнований «Дети Азии».


География всех выполненных работ огромна по своим масштабам и объемам работ. Компани гордится своими специалистами - монтажниками и инженерами!